Eight months later…

Back in February when I started this blog, one of my first few posts highlighted a poorly-worded hostess sign in a restaurant. Last week, we returned to this establishment, sans kids, for a relaxing evening. I was delighted to see the NEW hostess sign:

I was so proud when, the first thing my husband said was, “Look! They fixed the sign!” A great wave of satisfaction washed over me. It felt like it was saying, “Your work here is done.”

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Just a few minutes later, I picked up the menu. As if to mock me, there, in the column was this statement:

Aside from the ghastly spelling of “challenge”, this statement is devoid of the correct punctuation. Further, those who accept this “challange” in hopes of getting the coveted T-shirt (which won’t even cover their middle when they are done) are the same ones who won’t notice the misspelled word.

If it wasn’t for the unbelievably amazing Dyson hand dryer in the ladies’ restroom, I don’t think I could go back there.

4 Comments

Filed under punctuation, spelling, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Eight months later…

  1. Angela Sheets

    But the nachos there are REALLY good!

    • Yes, I admit, yes they are. The first time we ordered a full order to share, we were embarrassed because we had no idea how huge it was. Now we share the half order and we are both full!

  2. Kathryn

    Wow, that hand dryer looks–carnivorous. I wouldn’t let my hands anywhere near that baby!

Leave a Reply

