Our Education-ers

I’ve been watching Jack Black in “School of Rock” so often, I can practically recite it. If you’re not familiar with it, it’s just a fun movie where Jack Black plays a down-on-his-luck wannabe rock star, who poses as his roommate to get a job as a substitute teacher, to make some money so he can pay off his debts. Along the way, he learns that he loves teaching and the difference music can make in kids’ lives. There’s this precious scene where he’s conversing with Principal Mullins (Joan Cusack), making stuff up as he goes. He claims to have been named to the “Presidential Council for Experimental Educationers.” His expression as he delivers this line is priceless.

I fear we may have some “educationers” among us. I don’t have a kindergartener anymore, but one of my new favorite people does. The teacher sent this note home to the parents after the first week of school. I think it’s great that the teacher has mastered the skills needed to use cute fonts and draw boxes and such, but I do so wish she would pay as much attention to the real message she is sending.

5 Comments

Filed under omg, proofreading, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Our Education-ers

  1. Matt

    “I think it’s great that the teacher has mastered the skills needed to use cute fonts and draw boxes and such”

    JS – I love a good snarky comment. Thanks for making me smile today.

  2. Laura

    Oh, Lord. What hope is there for the future of English?

  3. Tiffany Hamil

    I’m proud to say that the week two newsletter is a bit better from a grammar standpoint. Cute fonts are still there, though.

Leave a Reply

