Franken-sentence

I’ve been reading a fair amount of technical literature lately because I’m trying to learn about a new technology. When the words don’t make any sense, or when I get completely distracted by obvious errors in the piece, it becomes harder to sew together some semblance of understanding. I’m pretty good at learning new concepts when they’re described well.

It’s this whole concept of piecing things together that led me to the Frankenstein comparison. I read the classic by Mary Shelley last summer because I had never read it, and it was better than I expected. Here was the protagonist, who created the “monster”, and who was continually being outsmarted by it. He became obsessed by his creation and followed it all over the world…and it is there I will leave you, not to spoil the ending.

I’ve inexpertly blanked out the name of the company in question in these three snippets, but you don’t have to read far to see where I might get hung up. Whoever has created this “monster” had better destroy it before it loses them every customer they were hoping to get.

I think they meant "1900s"

I can only hope they mean diesel engine "plants." Also, what are these "peculiar" customer needs? I don't want to know.

together?

2 Comments

Filed under proofreading, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Franken-sentence

  1. Kathryn

    Aweel, noo. . .one of the meanings of “peculiar” is “particular, unique, special.” It’s not a common modern usage, but it would pass muster. . .if it looked in the least as if they intended it that way.

    I particularly liked “competence into the main component”–or is that a comprehensible statement in the technical context?

Leave a Reply

